How to Turn Off “Complete Your Timeline” Notifications from Google Maps

If you use Google Maps on your mobile phone, then it will actively obtain your location data. Because it can not operate without this information. Though you are not actively using the app at this moment, Google Maps is continuing to obtain your location data by running in the background. Because Google Maps wants to give you the updated location data when you actively use the app next time. In this way, Google Maps can give you the correct directions and navigation. Though this feature is useful, Google Maps frequently sends alerts prompting you to add new location data to the location history and complete your timeline. This is somewhat annoying.

Google Maps can detect the locations when you travel from one place to another. Further, it can detect if you have stopped at a location and left it. If the place is a new location then Google Maps will ask you to add it to your location history. Every time you visit a new place, you will get the “Compete Your Timeline” alert. So this is really annoying. But it is not a drawback of the app, because it wants to be always up-to-date with the location data. To turn off these alerts you have to disable the location history. Let’s discuss how to do that.

How to Disable Location History?

You can disable location history using any web browser on any platform. But it will be easier if you use your desktop PC to do this. If you have not logged in to the Google account that is used on your mobile phone, then, first of all, you have to log into it. After that go to the location history settings page. Then switch off the toggle button next to the Location History.

Turn Off Complete Your Timeline Google Location maps

At last, you have to click on the PAUSE button in the prompt box which appears after switching off the toggle button.

Disable Complete Your Timeline Notification

That’s it. These settings will be applied to all the other devices and apps that use the same Google account also. If you want to have the recommendations given by Google Maps then you should not disable the location history. But then you have to tolerate the annoyance of alerts.

Leave a Comment

error: Content is protected !!